The longest journey begins with a single step.

To all those that are reading this, welcome to our site!  We are Sara and Brian and we have created this as a way to document our journey into parenting.  Our story until this point is long and we will be sharing it with you as we go.

Mid April 2013, we found out that we were expecting our first child.  As we have had trouble in starting our family, announcing our pregnancy via Facebook was out of the question.  Facebook was very painful to Sara as we struggled with conception and she did not want hurt anyone in the same way.  We also have family spread out across the country and we would like them to be able to share in our journey.  We figured the best way to do this is to start a blog.

I don’t know how often we will be posting.  I do know that it will be an entertaining adventure as we will be first time parents with all the joys and struggles that go along with it.  So come along and enjoy the journey!

26 thoughts on “The longest journey begins with a single step.

  1. This is an awesome idea! I know Facebook was hellish for Lacey and I as we were trying to conceive. I’m happy for you guys.

  2. Julie says:

    Love it! More congrats to you both!

  3. Bob Miskimen says:

    May God richly bless you and hold you in His arms until you can hold one of your own in your arms as well. Great news, Cousins!

  4. Jamie Walters (aka Jamie J) says:

    YAY! Congrats you guys– Facebook can be that way, but I’m so. Very. Excited for y’all.

  5. Kristi says:

    Tears of joy!! As you know, your journey towards parenthood has been on my heart and in my active prayers for quite some time. I’m so glad you are going the blog route (fb is rough for so many, as you mentioned). I look forward to reading about your continued journey. Big hugs!!

  6. Kim says:

    Congratulations Brian & Sarah!

  7. Mom Scheller says:

    Happy Anniversary! Such a great idea to start a blog! Love you!

  8. Mary Kratochvil says:

    Oh my goodness! What wonderful news. I am so happy for both of you. Thank you so much for your blog. I will be enjoying your journey through it. God bless you .

  9. Linda Fritzler says:

    Congratulations! You two will be wonderful parents!

  10. Kristen says:

    I understand these sentiments completely and avoid Facebook for similar reasons. However, this wonderful news, I am SO excited to see! Congratulations, Sara and Brian! I am praying for a smooth pregnancy, and look forward to sharing in the journey (long distance and on-line) with you!

    • sbscheller says:

      Thank you, Kristen! I am sorry to hear you have a similar struggle. I deeply understand. If you need someone that understands to just listen, I’m here (still have my cune email!)! I think God has given this struggle to me to help others. It’s such a silent struggle. Gods love and peace to you!

  11. Mel says:

    Congratulations guys! I too am one that shares in your struggles and emotional battles with all of this. It’s hopeful to me that you were successful! Blessings to the three of you!

    • sbscheller says:

      It’s so painful how many people struggle with this in practical silence. I hate how this disease is so taboo. So glad we can give you hope. We just don’t want to bring any unnecessary hurt to those still in the battle. Here if you need an understanding ear.

  12. rajsr1 says:

    Sara and Brian, I’m so happy for you! Not being able to conceive is so utterly painful. Dick and I know that empty-arms-feeling as a distant memory now. We lost our first child close to Good Friday, God’s way of letting us know that He shared our pain. Dick grieved much more deeply than I did. We both learned to trust God more. When we lost our second child, our trust grew but it was indeed so painful when others easily carried a child to term. Friends meant well when then said, “Don’t worry. You’ll have another child.” But those words had the opposite effect. Those words only increased our sense of hopelessness.

    I read your blog out loud to Dick knowing he would understand those painful days you described. Dick and I will continue in our prayers for you. May God give you your hearts desire, a healthy child.

    Psalm 3:3-4 ‘But thou, O Lord, art a shield for me; my glory and the lifter of my head. I cried unto the Lord with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.’

    • sbscheller says:

      Thank you for sharing your story with us. I had no idea! We are realizing through this blog how many people feel this pain so silently. Thanks for your prayers and support!

  13. Eunice Harris says:

    Oh Sara and Brian, I am happy for you! God’s blessings on you both and your child. Who knows, God knows, maybe many children to come.

  14. Harv and Grace Miskimen says:

    Our prayers are with you both. We are looking forward to the new great niece or nephew. God bless you all. Uncle Harv and Aunt Grace

Leave a Reply

