Our Journey…Sara’s perspective part 2

If you are just beginning to read our journey, check our the previous post to get part one and some more background.

Another note, I am bearing my heart here, if you have your own beliefs about fertility treatments, you are welcome to them. I used to have strong beliefs against IVF, I’ve learned no one should make that decision unless you are facing the chance of never having biological children. Okay, I’m off my soapbox. πŸ™‚

After our last failure in August 2012, we both needed a break. I was emotionally spent and just couldn’t do another month of injections, appointments, procedures and the ultimate possibility of another failure. We told Dr. P and his nurses that we would call when ready to discuss future options. It was much later in the fall before we made that phone call and we were asked to come in and visit.

Dr. P said that while there was no explanation for not becoming pregnant with the aid of the medications and procedures, he no longer thought continuing on the same path was going to help us achieve pregnancy. He recommended we consider IVF if we wanted biological children. We went into treatment agreeing we would not consider IVF and now were told that may be the only way. He, of course, said there was always a chance, but our chances didn’t look too promising. He recommended two other doctors to visit regarding IVF and suggested we look into mini IVF which involves less drugs, fewer eggs produced (thus little likelihood of having extra embryos), lower cost and far fewer risks for complications. We went home with a lot on our minds and a lot of praying to do.

Early in 2013, I contacted Dr. S, who works with Dr. P on IVF and scheduled an appointment. When the fateful day finally came, it turned out to be one of the lowest times in our journey. While this doctor is brilliant, world renowned and has had great success, he has no bedside manner. Whatsoever. He said I have PCOS. Okay, how have so many other doctors missed this? He said it is pointless for us to even try to have a baby without IVF and I must start birth control immediately until we can schedule the procedure (Who said we ever agreed to it?!?). I was obviously upset and emotional. I began to softly cry. To which he noted in his notes DICTATED IN FRONT OF US that “female is crying and I told her she is ridiculous.” Okay, we were done here. We politely listened to the sweet, apologetic nurse and went on our way. If IVF was the path we needed to take, it would most definitely NOT be under his “care.”

Our ride home was filled with tears and doubts. Little did we know that this horrific appointment would be the best thing that could’ve happened to us. God knew what he was doing (of course!) and this, I believe, was His way of leading us to the kindest, most caring doctor I have ever met.

Some good friends had recommended we see an RE at another hospital and while hesitant at first, I was willing to go anywhere that wasn’t near Dr. S. We found sweet Dr. W in March. After talking to him for only a few minutes he said, “You’ve been through too much, we will get started now and get this figured out.” He quickly diagnosed me with PCOS (here we go again!), but he showed me why and explained what new steps we could take that did NOT involved IVF! We would change from using clomid to using Femera, a $10 drug I would take ORALLY for 5 days, wait a few then check by ultrasound to see if my ovaries would wake up! Darn lazy ovaries! πŸ™‚ In the meantime, it was spring break and Dr. W ordered us to go to Branson and have some fun. (Eye roll at the insuation that taking a vacay would automatically equal pregnancy, but I think he honestly wanted us to have time NOT worrying about getting pregnant.)

We did go to Branson, left the stressful world of infertility behind for 2 days and came back with some hope. I took Femera as directed and went back to see Dr. W the day after Easter. To our shock, there were 2 huge follicles – with a $10 drug, mind you, where $1000 of injectables got us ONE and he was ready to schedule our quick procedure for Wednesday. He told us “everything is perfect, we won’t miss!”

I went in nervously on Wednesday because Brian couldn’t go for the first time in dozens of appointments. Just as with Dr. P the procedure was quick, painless and I was back to school before the kids, that is, after he grabbed my hand and said, “This is going to work. It has to!” And sent me on my way. I prayed he was right, but I’d had enough heartache to know to protect myself a bit. Now, the dreaded 2 week wait. During these 2 weeks, Brian had a musical to get on stage and my parents were coming. Praise God for distractions!

2 weeks minus one day later I was screaming in the bathroom for Brian to come tell me if he saw one line or two! It was unbelievable…in fact, though I’m nearly 20 weeks pregnant now, I’m still often surprised by my protruding belly or strange flutters of movement. It’s true. Praise God. And thank you, Dr. W for believing it would work when I was convinced nothing would. And again, praise God!

Monday is our 20 week appointment. Prayers for a healthy baby are requested. Guesses for boy or girl are optional…no we are NOT having twins!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

